Skip to main content

MPS announces next Superintendent

Posted Date: 05/17/2022

MPS announces next Superintendent

Dear McAlester Buffalo family,  


We wanted you to be the first to know some exciting news about our district. During tonight’s special school board meeting, we, the McAlester Board of Education, named Dr. Robert Steeber as our next superintendent.   Dr. Steeber will begin his duties as superintendent at the end of the school year, upon current superintendent Randy Hughes’ retirement.  


During Mr. Hughes’ time with our district, he has been a force of positive change for both the community and the district. We are grateful for his leadership and guidance over the years, and we wish him well in his next endeavors. 


With the help of the Oklahoma State School Boards Association, the board selected Dr. Steeber from a competitive pool of candidates. Thank you to those who completed the online community survey and participated in the focus groups. Input from both was incredibly valuable as we navigated the search process. 


Dr. Steeber is a longtime education professional with over 30 years of experience as an administrator, superintendent, teacher, and coach. Before his time as an administrator, he spent more than 10 years in the classroom as a teacher and coach in Oklahoma and Texas. After receiving his master’s in education in 2001, he began his career as an administrator  and assistant principal in Texas.  


Dr. Steeber would go on to receive a doctorate in education at Texas A&M University and is currently pursuing a master’s in science for advanced data analytics at the University of North Texas. 


Dr. Steeber’s experience and knowledge, along with his passion for education and students, will help McAlester maintain and boost the momentum we have seen in our district in recent years. We are excited to work alongside Dr. Steeber as we continue to build upon the success of McAlester Public Schools.   



Members of the McAlester Board of Education  

Joy Tribbey, President 

Shelli Colbert, Vice President 

Cameron Fields, Clerk 

Greg Rock, Member 

Rachel Gronwald, Member