Skip to main content

MPS School Board Leaders Recognized in January

Posted Date: 01/03/2023

MPS School Board Leaders Recognized in January

McAlester Public Schools family thankful for hard work, dedication

Dedicated to public education, school board members across the state are committed to providing every opportunity possible to students in their community. January is School Board Recognition Month, providing local schools and communities the chance to honor Oklahoma’s more than 2,700 elected school board members for their dedication and service.

McAlester Public Schools board members include: Mrs. Joy Tribbey, President, Ms. Shelli Colbert, Vice President, Mr. Cameron Fields, Clerk, and Mr. Greg Rock, Member. We are also grateful for the service of Mrs. Rachel Gronwald who recently resigned from the board. 

“Our school board members not only share their time but their vision and voice to shape the direction of public education in Oklahoma,” Superintendent Dr. Robert Steeber said. “We are proud of our school board members and the dedication they have to making our district the best it can be. School Board Recognition Month is the time to say thank you and celebrate the accomplishments of our elected board members.”

In McAlester, school board members develop policies and must make tough decisions on complex educational and social issues impacting the entire community. They bear the responsibility of managing an annual budget of $33 million dollars for 2,900 students, 440 employees and 9 school buildings.

“During School Board Recognition Month, we hope you will join us as we take the opportunity to acknowledge our local board of education,” Steeber said. “